A Golden State Warriors fan celebrates a Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry (30) three pointer during Game 2 of the NBA Finals against the Cleveland Cavaliers at Oracle Arena in Oakland, Calif., on June 4, 2017. (Stan Olszewski/Special to S.F. Examiner)

Warriors get their way with schedule for title defense

The Golden State Warriors play their first game, defending their title second title in three years, on Tuesday, Oct. 17, against the Houston Rockets. Beyond that, here are three takeaways from the 2017-18 schedule, released by the NBA on Monday.

The commish listened

Last season, the Warriors traveled roughly 9,500 miles, playing eight games over the span of 12 days.

Head coach Steve Kerr was not happy about that draw. And things couldn’t have gotten much worse for the team on the court. Kevin Durant got injured, and the Warriors lost three-consecutive games (something they hadn’t done in two-plus years). During the last contest of the trip, Kerr held out all of his regulars in a nationally televised tilt in San Antonio.

NBA commissioner Adam Silver was not happy about that.

This year, it should come as no surprise that the commissioner made it a top priority to avoid the same mistake of stacking the schedule with an arduous travel burden.

The Dubs play 12 back-to-back sets, none of which have a second game following a significant flight (Philadelphia to Brooklyn doesn’t apply).

Home for the holidays

The cushiest portion of the Warriors’ schedule falls around Christmas. Their longest homestand (seven games) begins Dec. 20 against Memphis and doesn’t end until Dec. 30 vs. the Grizzlies again.

After Dec. 8, the Dubs won’t leave California until 2018 — their only road game (Dec. 18) is against the Los Angeles Lakers.

Where the hate flows like wine

It’s must-see TV whenever the Warriors roll into unfriendly territory. There are two fan-bases in particular that just can’t tolerate Golden State and its stars.

The first time the boos rain down will be Nov. 22, their first contest at Oklahoma City, which has a new star in Paul George but is far from forgetting Kevin Durant leaving the Thunder.

Before then, San Antonio crowd will express its displeasure for Zaza Pachulia on Nov. 2.

With the Cavaliers crumbling as Kyrie Irving requests a trade out of town and LeBron James readies to leave, the Cleveland crowd on Jan. 15 (MLK Jr. Day) will be near apoplectic.

October

  • Tuesday, Oct. 17: vs. Houston, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Friday, Oct. 20: at New Orleans, 6:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Saturday, Oct. 21: at Memphis, 5 p.m., NBATV
  • Monday, Oct. 23: at Dallas, 5:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 25: vs. Toronto, 7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 27: vs. Washington, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Sunday, Oct. 29: vs. Detroit, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 30: at L.A. Clippers, 7:30 p.m., NBATV

November

  • Thursday, Nov. 2: at San Antonio, 5 p.m., TNT
  • Saturday, Nov. 4: at Denver, 6 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 6: vs. Miami, 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 8: vs. Minnesota, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Saturday, Nov. 11: vs. Philadelphia, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 13: vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 16: at Boston, TNT
  • Saturday, Nov. 18: at Philadelphia, 4:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, Nov. 19: at Brooklyn, 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 22: at Oklahoma City, 5 p.m., ESPN
  • Friday, Nov. 24: vs. Chicago, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Saturday, Nov. 25: vs. New Orleans, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 27: vs. Sacramento, 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 29: at L.A. Lakers, 7:30 p.m., NBATV

December

  • Friday, Dec. 1: at Orlando, 4 p.m.
  • Sunday, Dec. 3: at Miami, 4 p.m.
  • Monday, Dec. 4: at New Orleans, 5 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Dec. 6: at Charlotte, 5 p.m., ESPN
  • Friday, Dec. 8: at Detroit, 4 p.m., ESPN
  • Monday, Dec. 11: vs. Portland, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Dec. 14: vs. Dallas, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Monday, Dec. 18: at L.A. Lakers, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Wednesday, Dec. 20: vs. Memphis, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Friday, Dec. 22: vs. L.A. Lakers, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Saturday, Dec. 23: vs. Denver, 5:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Dec. 25: vs. Cleveland, 12 p.m., ABC
  • Wednesday, Dec. 27: vs. Utah, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Friday, Dec. 29: vs. Charlotte, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 30: vs. Memphis, 5:30 p.m.

January

  • Wednesday, Jan. 3: at Dallas, 5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Jan. 4: at Houston, 5 p.m., TNT
  • Saturday, Jan. 6: at L.A. Clippers, 12:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Jan. 8: vs. Denver, 7:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Jan. 10: vs. L.A. Clippers, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Friday, Jan. 12: at Milwaukee, 5 p.m., ESPN
  • Saturday, Jan. 13: at Toronto, 4:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Jan. 15: at Cleveland, 5 p.m., TNT
  • Wednesday, Jan. 17: at Chicago, 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, Jan. 20: at Houston, 5:30 p.m., ABC
  • Tuesday, Jan. 23: vs. New York, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Jan. 25: vs. Minnesota, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Saturday, Jan. 27: vs. Boston, 5:30 p.m., ABC
  • Tuesday, Jan. 30: at Utah, 6 p.m.

February

  • Friday, Feb. 2: at Sacramento, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Saturday, Feb. 3: at Denver, 6 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 6: vs. Oklahoma City, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Thursday, Feb. 8: vs. Dallas, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Feb. 10: vs. San Antonio, 5:30 p.m., ABC
  • Monday, Feb. 12: vs. Phoenix, 7:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Wednesday, Feb. 14: at Portland, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Thursday, Feb. 22: vs. L.A. Clippers, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Saturday, Feb. 24: vs. Oklahoma City, 5:30 p.m., ABC
  • Monday, Feb. 26: at New York, 4:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Wednesday, Feb. 28: at Washington, 5 p.m., ESPN

March

  • Friday, March 2: at Atlanta, 4:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 6: vs. Brooklyn, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 8: vs. San Antonio, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Friday, March 9: at Portland, 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 11: at Minnesota, 12:30 p.m., ABC
  • Wednesday, March 14: vs. Los Angeles Lakers, 7:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Friday, March 16: vs. Sacramento, 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 17: at Phoenix, 7 p.m.
  • Monday, March 19: at San Antonio, 6:30 p.m., ESPN
  • Friday, March 23: vs. Atlanta, 7:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 25: vs. Utah, 5:30 p.m., NBATV
  • Tuesday, March 27: vs. Indiana, 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 29: vs. Milwaukee, 7:30 p.m., TNT
  • Saturday, March 31: at Sacramento, 7 p.m.

April

  • Sunday, April 1: vs. Phoenix, 5:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 3: at Oklahoma City, 5 p.m., TNT
  • Thursday, April 5: at Indiana, 4 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 7: vs. New Orleans, 5:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 8: at Phoenix, 6 p.m., NBATV
  • Tuesday, April 10: at Utah, 6 p.m.

Contact Examiner Sports Editor Jacob C. Palmer at jpalmer@sfexaminer.com or on Twitter, @jacobc_palmer.

 

Just Posted

SRO resident on hunger strike for rent relief

Activist putting her body on the line in push to cap rents for residents in city SROs

Records released in two high-profile San Francisco police shootings

Department of Police Accountability discloses in files Alex Nieto, Amilcar Perez-Lopez cases

SF Public Works to test 24-hour public bathroom in the Tenderloin

Pilot will determine demand for all-night toilets staffed by attendants

Emotions run high at hearing on plan to remove or cover historic New Deal mural

Controversial Washington High School fresco depicts slaves, dead Native American

SF becomes first U.S. city to ban sale of e-cigarettes

Legislation expected to be challenged by Juul-backed ballot measure

Most Read