Mayor swears in appointments for SF boards and commissions

Mayor Ed Lee swore in several new appointments and reappointments to The City's boards and commissions today in a ceremony at City Hall. 

New members were added to the Aging & Adult Services Commission, Entertainment Commission, HIV Health Services Planning Council, Library Commission, the Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors, Police Commission, Treasure Island Development Authority Board of Directors, and the Youth Council of the Workforce Investment Board. 

Lee announced his nominations to four of the government bodies in June. Among them was Sonia Melara, who previously served on the Health Commission and was sworn in today on the Police Commission. Melara is the executive director of Rally Family Visitation Services at St. Francis Memorial Hospital and co-founded La Casa De Las Madres, a San Francisco-based shelter for victims of domestic violence. 

Melara's appointment was shadowed by a recent shakeup of the Police Commission, during which former commissioner Angela Chan was ousted and replaced with mayor-backed candidate Victor Hwang. 

Former planning commissioner Gwyneth Borden, another Lee nominee, was appointed to the board of the SF Municipal Transportation Agency. 

The full list of appointments and reappointments is below. An asterisk represents a new appointment.

Aging & Adult Services Commission
*Kaushik Roy, commissioner

Asian Art Commission
David Y Lei, commissioner

Board of Appeals
Ann Lazarus, president

Entertainment Commission
*Liam F. Frost, commissioner

Golden Gate Park Concourse Authority Board of Directors
*Zoon Nguyen, member

HIV Health Services Planning Council
*Kimberly Gilgenberg-Castillo, council member

Library Commission
*Dr. Mary Wardell Ghirarduzzi, commissioner
*Zoe Dunning, commissioner

Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors
*Gwyneth Borden, member

Oversight Board
John Rahiam, member
Robert Muscat, member

Police Commission
*Sonia E. Melara, commissioner

Port Commission
Leslie Katz, president
William E. Adams, vice president

Recreation & Park Commission
Maggie Wei, commissioner
Mark Buell, president

Treasure Island Development Authority Board of Directors
*Dr. Thomas J. Aragon
Larry Mazzola, Jr., vice president
Linda Richardson, president

Workforce Investment Board
Aaron Chrisco
Darlene Rutkowski
Egon Terplan
Gwyneth Borden
Jeanine Cotter
Jorge Tapia
Katy Johnson
Kevin Carroll
Paul Giusti
Rodrigo Santos
Ruben Santana
Ted Egan
Tiffany Apczynski
Ximena Delgado

Youth Council of the Workforce Investment Board
*Aaron Chrisco

Just Posted

Giants, Yastrzemski walk it off as Conner Menez, Zach Green star in debuts

San Francisco Giants debut two rookies who play major roles in third extra-inning win over Mets

SF to shut down 82 oil wells on Kern County property

‘Keep It in the Ground’ legislation prohibits the extraction of oil, gas and minerals from city land

Central Subway contractor dispute threatens to bust budget

Muni’s $1.6 billion Central Subway project is nearly out of money. An… Continue reading

Lyft rolls out new rental bikes

San Francisco welcomed 2,400 electric-assist rental bikes on its streets Friday morning… Continue reading

Navigation Center opponents’ lawsuit sent back to SF

Judge declines to issue immediate injunction stopping construction of Embarcadero shelter

Most Read