Paul Sakuma/ap file photoFacebook is pushing for higher pay for its janitors

Facebook phases in 'Unfollow' button

Facebook Inc has replaced its “Hide All” button with the more succinct “Unfollow,” letting users block all messages and posts from selected friends.

As with the previous button, it gives users the option of blocking content from certain people without offending them, say through de-friending. The latter alternative severs ties with that person on the social network, without notifying them.

“This means you are still friends, but updates from that person won't appear in your News Feed. The goal of this change is to help people curate their newsfeed and see more of the content that they care about,” Facebook said in an email.

The world's largest social network is constantly tweaking its newsfeed – the main page users look at on the network – often by reducing clutter, especially from advertising, and bringing to the surface or revealing the posts deemed most relevant to any particular user.

Facebook began rolling out the “Unfollow” button and a related change to its users on Monday. It added a “Following” button next to the usual “Like” button on a page or next to the “Friends” button on a personal timeline, which will also enable users to block posts.

Just Posted

SF may ask voters to approve a vacant storefront tax in March

Supervisor Peskin says proposal to give small businesses ‘leverage in lease negotiations’

Chesa Boudin to be sworn in as San Francisco DA in January

District Attorney-elect Chesa Boudin will not take office until early next year… Continue reading

After high-profile dismissals, Breed appoints new SFMTA director

Jeffrey Tumlin to lead Muni after sexual harassment scandal, operator shortage

US diplomats describe Trump’s effort to hijack Ukraine policy for his political benefit

Historic public impeachment proceedings got underway Wednesday

Most Read