COurtesy DEBORAH O’GRADYBay Area composer Samuel Adams

COurtesy DEBORAH O’GRADYBay Area composer Samuel Adams

Berkeley Symphony premieres Samuel Adams’ violin concerto

Composer Samuel Adams has a blind spot for the most beloved age of violin music — the romanticism of Mendelssohn, Paganini and Tchaikovsky.

On Thursday, the Berkeley Symphony presents the world premiere of Adams’ first Violin Concerto, a four-movement response to the tradition of violin concertos by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Stravinsky and Ligeti — a clear omission of the popular romantic warhorses of violin literature.

“I tend to skip a hundred years or so,” says the Berkeley native. “I was trained in composition to be very skeptical of the past, of expression, romanticism and old forms. As soon as I began sketching, however, I realized that certain tropes would be seen as traditional.”

In his work, he reconsiders emotional profiles and tenets of the art form: expositions, cadenzas, recapitulations and resolutions take new meanings and play different roles.

For Adams, 28, a Stanford alumnus, the search for a unique voice has been gradual, with influences from jazz’s Cecil Taylor, Keith Jarrett and Herbie Hancock as well as the classical world.

“I found myself between this split,” he says. “On the one hand, in this hyper-rigid, almost scientific way of thinking about sound at Stanford, and then going out, and playing three hours of bass at a bar in downtown San Francisco. This compelled me to search for a musical voice that would mitigate those two things.”

The compulsion has led to commissions from Carnegie Hall, Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony, and for the New York Times to call him “a composer with a personal voice and keen imagination.”

Renowned British violinist Anthony Marwood, who was selected by Adams to perform the premiere, says, “The process of learning a wonderful new concerto is a fascinating one; we inhabit the composer’s mind while making up our own, but the most intense chapter is always hearing the orchestration live for the first time.”

In addition to Adams’ commission, Thursday’s program features Stravinsky’s “Pulcinella Suite” and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3, “Scottish,” in A minor, conducted by music director Joana Carneiro.

Adams, the son of Pultizer Prize-winning composer John Adams, describes the moment his father recognized the extent of his blossoming talent.

“He knew that I was creative, that music really affected me as a child,” he says. “But it wasn’t until I was a senior in college, when I wrote my first piece for orchestra, that I think I really surprised him. I think that affected him quite deeply.”


Berkeley Symphony

Where: Zellerbach Hall, near Bancroft Way and Dana Street, UC Berkeley campus, Berkeley

When: 8 p.m. Thursday

Tickets: $15 to $74

Contact: (510) 841-2800 x1, www.berkeleysymphony.orgAnthony MarwoodartsBerkeley SymphonyClassical Music & OperaSamuel Adams

If you find our journalism valuable and relevant, please consider joining our Examiner membership program.
Find out more at

Just Posted

Deputy public defender Chris Garcia outside the Hall of Justice on Wednesday, June 16, 2021. (Kevin N. Hume/The Examiner)
As pandemic wanes, SF public defender hopes clients will get ‘their day in court’

Like other attorneys in San Francisco, Deputy Public Defender Chris Garcia has… Continue reading

Hyphen hosts a group show at Space Gallery in San Francisco in 2010. (Photo courtesy of Albert Law/Pork Belly Studio)
What’s in a name? Asian American magazine fights to keep its identity

An investor-backed media group laid claim to the moniker of SF’s long-running Hyphen magazine, sparking a conversation about writing over community history

A warning notice sits under the windshield wiper of a recreational vehicle belonging to a homeless man named David as it sits parked on De Wolf Street near Alemany Boulevard on Friday, Aug. 31, 2018. A proposed SF Municipal Transportation Agency law would make it illegal for overnight parking on the side street for vehicles taller than seven feet or longer than 22 feet. (Kevin N. Hume/S.F. Examiner)
Fight over ‘poverty tows’ heats up

‘What can we do to ensure the vehicle stays in the hands of the owner?’

Crab fisherman Skip Ward of Marysville casts his crab net out off a pier near Fort Point. (Craig Lee/Special to The	Examiner)
San Francisco came back to life, and we captured it all

Last spring, in the early days of the pandemic, the bestselling authors… Continue reading

Revelers at Madrone Art Bar in the early hours of June 15, 2021 (Courtesy Power Quevedo).
No social distancing at Motown-themed dance party

‘I don’t care how anyone feels, I just want to dance!’

Most Read