Team Korea penalty helps USA seize championship 

click to enlarge USA all the way: Team Oracle USA Coutts, right, beat Team Oracle USA Spithill, left, in an all-Oracle final match race on Sunday.
  • USA all the way: Team Oracle USA Coutts, right, beat Team Oracle USA Spithill, left, in an all-Oracle final match race on Sunday.

Oracle Team USA Spithill made a dramatic comeback in the final race of the weekend to claim the fleet race championship, but if not for a last-minute penalty on Team Korea, Spithill may have been left in the cold.

The infraction came when Korea did not yield the right of way to Team Oracle as the two teams approached the finish line.

The International Sailing Federation’s Racing Rules of Sailing state that, “A yacht has right of way when another yacht is required to keep clear of her.”

Because Team Korea was the windward boat while both were on the same tack, Korea was required to allow Spithill to have the right of way, but did not.

The penalty forced Korea to slow down enough to let Spithill pass, allowing Spithill to finish second.

Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of...

Latest in Other Sports

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Videos

Related to Other Sports

© 2014 The San Francisco Examiner

Website powered by Foundation