Despite all-time numbers, Pro Football Hall of Fame denies Terrell Owens again

As far as the Pro Football Hall of Fame voters are concerned, Terrell Owens had too much of a negative effect on the teams he played for to earn induction after two years of eligibility.

Never mind that he has the second-most receiving yards of all time and ranks third in career touchdown catches.

Owens broke the news he didn’t make the cut on Twitter, where he later posted, “HOF is a total joke. Honestly, doesn’t mean anything to me to get in beyond this point.”

Making matters more embarrassing for the selection committee, Owens didn’t make it past the first cut before he was eliminated from consideration.

Those who will be inducted before next NFL season starts: kicker Morten Andersen (Saints, Falcons), running back Terrell Davis (Broncos), defensive end Jason Taylor (Dolphins), running back LaDainian Tomlinson (Chargers), and quarterback Kurt Warner (Rams, Cardinals). Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones made it from the contributors category and safety Kenny Easley was the senior nominee.

New 49ers GM John Lynch joins Owens, Patriots cornerback Ty Law and Eagles defensive back Brian Dawkins as snubbed candidates.

“Sure, it’s disappointing. But I’ve got enough going on, anyway,” Lynch told KUSA in Denver.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame picks its inductees by placing 48 selectors into a room with 10 ballots, and they have to debate for who will ultimately make the cut. They take a pool of 15 finalists and trim it to 10 before settling on five players, a contributor and a senior.

According to ESPN, the group debated about Owens for 31-plus minutes before determining his spotty record as a teammate — in their estimation — was too much to overcome.

The candidates who didn’t make the cut this year will be considered next year, when Randy Moss, Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher, among others, become eligible.

After learning his bust wasn’t being commissioned for Canton, Owens went on a retweeting spree. And some made pretty solid points:

For Bay Area fans, there will always be next year, when hopefully the best hitter of all time (Barry Bonds) and a top-five wide receiver get their due enshrinement.

Jacob C. Palmer
Published by
Jacob C. Palmer

Recent Posts

Smoky air closes Alcatraz

Alcatraz and other major visitor attractions in the Golden Gate National Recreation Area are closed this weekend due to unhealthy…

10 hours ago

Striking Boston Marriott workers reach tentative agreement, negotiations continue in San Francisco

Some 1,500 striking Marriott hotel workers in Boston, Mass. have reached a tentative agreement in contract negotiations with the hotel…

11 hours ago

Nov. 18-20: Disney Junior Dance Party on Tour, End of Life Resource Fair, Castle in the Sky, Marion Nestle, Sonics, Esperanza Spalding, Bandstand, Volti and Left Coast Ensemble, Good Charlotte, Thanks to Hank

SUNDAY, NOV. 18 Disney Junior Dance Party on Tour: The 90-minute interactive concert experience for kids and families features live…

11 hours ago

SF Preps: San Francisco Section postpones football semifinals to Thanksgiving Week

The smoke and ash from the Camp fire in Butte County continues to impact local high school sports in the…

12 hours ago

In first hearing to appeal SF scooter permit loss, Spin alleges ‘biased’ process

Scooter company Spin lost its bid to operate in San Francisco but now it’s trying to spin that decision around.…

1 day ago

California fires: Death toll in Paradise rises to 71; more than 1,000 unaccounted for

The death toll from California’s worst fire rose to 71 on Friday, with more than 1,000 people still unaccounted for.…

1 day ago